Posted On: 01/9/20 12:00 PM

The Highland Shootout is this weekend on Saturday, January 11!  It is annually one of the MUST ATTEND events in the state of Illinois and St. Louis area.  This year might be the best field ever! 

Who are the headliners from Illinois?  This year the Highland Shootout will feature two of the truly elite programs from Illinois in Simeon and Whitney Young out of Chicago.  Simeon features junior DePaul commit Ahamad Bynum and elite sophomore Jaylen Drane who both rank in the top 5 of their classes.  Also senior small forward Jeremiah Williams is one of the top uncommitted prospects in the Illinois 2020 class.  For Whitney Young they are led by Duke commit DJ Steward.  He established himself as the top player in the state this summer on the travel team circuit with his elite shooting and feel for the game.  Probable McDonald’s All-American.  Tyler Beard is his backcourt mate and like Williams is among the best uncommitted prospects in Illinois and the Midwest.  They have a pair of high level juniors with D1 futures in top in-state power forward Grant Newell and standout combo guard Jaehshon Thomas.  On both of these squads also watch for a star freshman guard in Jalen Griffith (Simeon) and Dalen Davis (Whitney Young) who have got next!

Collinsville is the best team in Illinois outside of the Chicago area and is coming off a championship from their holiday tournament more than proving that are legit state title contenders in March.  Ray’Sean Taylor is a Mr. Basketball candidate and SIU-Edwardsville commit that it all starts with at the point.  He has help in senior center Keydrian Jones and point guard Cawhan Smith.  Also bouncy four man Nathan Hall is an emerging talent.  Triad is another local team to watch as they have Luke Cox who is a high scoring two guard that gets buckets!  Small college gem.

On the Missouri side it is absolutely stacked!  Every single prospect in the PrepHoops Missouri Top 10 for the 2020 class will be playing!  CBC is led by North Carolina commit Caleb Love who will go against his future ACC rival and Blue Devils commit DJ Steward.  For CBC they also have D1 recruits Larry Hughes and Robert Martin who are each only sophomores.  Vashon has a blue blood commit on their squad as well in Cam’Ron Fletcher.  The small forward is headed to Kentucky next year and this jumbo wing can flat out get buckets!  They also feature top 10 seniors Kobe Clark who just landed a Georgetown offer along with SEMO commit Phillip Russell.  Vashon has top 5 junior Nicholas Kern who has so much upside.  Chaminade is always a fun watch at Highland.  They are led by Kansas State commit Luke Kasbuke who is one of the best shooters in the Midwest.  Tarris Reed is a sophomore center that really intrigues us in 2022.

An interesting matchup will be between of the best two posts in the Missouri senior class.  Trinity center Ryan Kalkbrenner is headed to Creighton with a skilled game and elite shot blocking ability.  Trinity Catholic has powerful point guard Rashad Weekly-McDaniels who is headed to Central Michigan.  Kalkbrenner will face Kansas State commit Davion Bradford on the interior.  The four star recruit is a physical rebounder and defender at seven feet tall.  Mehlville also has talented senior wings Dylan Branson and Lamontay Daughtery.  Desmet has a pair of high-major big men out of St. Louis in 2021s Yaya Keita and Sekou Gassama.  Both make huge impacts on both ends of the floor.  Coban Porter is a top 10 senior to watch for Tolton out of Columbia.

Hamilton from Wisconsin features the #3 overall junior in the country in Patrick Baldwin Jr.  The 6’8” small forward has a feathery jumper and smooth all-around game.  He is one of the truly elite prospects and scorers nationally regardless of class.  Baldwin will have his pick of any college he wants to go to in 2021.


Schedule – Saturday, January 11

8:30 AM         Highland vs Greenville (Girls)
10:00 AM       Highland vs Triad
11:30 AM       Columbia Tolton (MO) vs Breese Mater Dei
1:00 PM         Desmet (MO) vs Collinsville
3:00 PM         Mehlville (MO) vs Trinity Catholic (MO)
4:45 PM         Hamilton (WI) vs Chaminade (MO)
6:30 PM         Simeon vs Vashon (MO)
8:15 PM         Whitney Young vs CBC (MO)


Illinois Prospects

Luke Cox (Triad – 2020)
Caleb Zurliene (Breese Mater Dei – 2020 – Purdue Northwest)
Jacob Schadegg (Breese Mater Dei – 2020 – McKendree)
Ray’Sean Taylor (Collinsville – 2020 – SIU-Edwardsville)
Keydrian Jones (Collinsville – 2020)
Cawhan Smith (Collinsville – 2020)
Nathan Hall (Collinsville – 2021)
Jeremiah Williams (Simeon – 2020)
Sincere Callwood (Simeon – 2020)
Ahamad Bynum (Simeon – 2021 – DePaul)
Dyland Ingram (Simeon – 2021)
Fred Poole (Simeon – 2021)
Phillip Holmes (Simeon – 2021)
Jalen Drane (Simeon – 2022)
Jalen Griffith (Simeon – 2023)
DJ Steward (Whitney Young – 2020 – Duke)
Tyler Beard (Whitney Young – 2020)
Sangolay Njie (Whitney Young – 2020)
CJ Johnson (Whitney Young – 2020)
Elliot Sieger (Whitney Young – 2020)
Grant Newell (Whitney Young – 2021)
Jaehshon Thomas (Whitney Young – 2021)
Kanye Smith (Whitney Young – 2022)
Xavier Amos (Whitney Young – 2022)
Dalen Davis (Whitney Young – 2023)


Missouri Prospects

Coban Porter (Columbia Tolton – 2020
Nathan Schwartze (Columbia Tolton – 2020)
Chase Martin (Columbia Tolton – 2020)
Mike Skoff (Desmet – 2020)
Sekou Gassama (Desmet – 2021)
Yaya Keita (Demset – 2021)
Thomas Redmond (Desmet – 2021)
Jeremiah Walker (Desmet – 2021)
Davion Bradford (Mehlville – 2020 – Kansas State)
Dylan Branson (Mehlville – 2020)
Lamontay Daughtery (Mehlville – 2020
Ryan Kalkbrenner (Trinity Catholic – 2020 – Creighton)
Rashad Weekly-McDaniels (Trinity Catholic – 2020 – Central Michigan)
Jordan Fulton (Trinity Catholic – 2021)
Luke Kasbuke (Chaminade – 2020 – Kansas State)
Harrison Vickers (Chaminade – 2020)
Matteus Case (Chaminade – 2020)
Frazier Ott (Chaminade – 2020 – Lindenwood)
Jaden Winfield (Chaminade – 2021)
Tarris Reed (Chaminade – 2022)
Cam’Ron Fletcher (Vashon – 2020 – Kentucky)
Kobe Clark (Vashon – 2020)
Phillip Russell (Vashon – 2020 – SEMO)
Sergio McClain (Vashon – 2020)
Nicholas Kern (Vashon – 2021)
Trevon Love (Vashon – 2021)
Recko Bailey (Vashon – 2021)
Caleb Love (CBC – 2020 – North Carolina)
Chevalier Benson (CBC – 2021)
Larry Hughes Jr. (CBC – 2022)
Robert Martin (CBC – 2022)



Wisconsin Prospects

Carson Smith (Hamilton – 2020 – Northern Michigan)
Lucas Finnessy (Hamilton – 2020)
JT Hoytink (Hamilton – 2020)
Patrick Baldwin Jr (Hamilton – 2021)
Tanner Resch (Hamilton – 2021)
Nolan Rieder (Hamilton – 2021)