Posted On: 11/13/18 12:00 PM

We are now in the month of November and that means the season is almost here!  With that being said we are looking across the state at various conferences and previewing the teams and players to watch!  Today we dive into the Southwest Prairie Conference!

Pre-Season Player of the Year

Ray J Dennis (Oswego East)

Dennis had a breakout spring and summer on the travel team circuit.  He is a big combo guard with a fluid game.  Plus jump shooter from mid-range and three.  Excellent feel for the game and makes an impact on both ends of the floor.  Ready to lead the favorites.  Committed to Boise State.


Team to Beat

Oswego East could have its best group in recent memory.  It is definitely led by Dennis, but there is a lot more to this team than just him.  He will be joined in the backcourt by Bolingbrook transfer Demari Grant.  Bouncy Kameron Battle will give them some athleticism in the front court.  Sam Schultz should be an anchor down low rebounding and scoring.  Odin Lium and Grayson Goetz will be nice role players for this team.


Biggest Threat

Three teams could challenge here.  Oswego has a nice backcourt combo in Jack Kahoun and Dylan Engler along with size up front in Connor McCance.  Romeoville lost a ton, but they return Destin Whitaker who is a breakout candidate in the conference.  Plainfield East is loaded with versatile guards and wings.  Christian Shumate is their star!


Sleeper Team

Joliet West is usually the favorite in this conference.  This year they will play the role of sleeper with a young squad anchored by three sophomores ranked in the top 25 in Jaiden Lee, Ashawn Burbridge, and Andrew Johnson.  Jamonte Benton will provide stability as a senior guard.


Top Prospects to Watch

Kendrick Williams (Joliet Central)
Deejay Holmes (Joliet Central)
Dakoda Joachim (Joliet Central)
Jamonte Benton (Joliet West)
Jaiden Lee (Joliet West)
Ashawn Burbridge (Joliet West)
Andrew Johnson (Joliet West)
Terrance Moncrief (Joliet West)
Adrian Gutierrez (Minooka)
Ray J Dennis (Oswego East)
Demari Grant (Oswego East)
Kameron Battle (Oswego East)
Sam Schultz (Oswego East)
Grayson Goetz (Oswego East)
Odin Lium (Oswego East)
Dylan Engler (Oswego)
Jack Kahoun (Oswego)
Connor McCance (Oswego)
Carter Thurman (Plainfield North)
Colin O’Rourke (Plainfield North)
Christian Shumate (Plainfield East)
Yamani Shareef (Plainfield East)
Nick Smoldt (Plainfield East)
Daniel Gilbreath (Plainfield East)
Diamond Presniakovas (Plainfield South)
Ikenna Okeke (Romeoville)
Michael Salter (Romeoville)
AJ Palmer (Romeoville)
Destin Whitaker (Romeoville)
Zach Gibson (Romeoville)


Top Contenders

  1. Oswego East
  2. Oswego
  3. Romeoville
  4. Plainfield East
  5. Joliet West