Posted On: 10/4/18 6:52 PM

The Metro Conference is going to be wide open this year.  Who is the best group?  We take a look at the talent and the teams. 

Last Year:

Final AA Ranking – 6) O’Gorman (15-9), 7) Washington (13-10), 8) Lincoln (14-9), 10) Brandon Valley (14-7), NR) Roosevelt

Conference Commentary 

Separation?  Not much here.  Predicting exactly where these teams fall isn’t easy but you have to look at O’Gorman with Luke Ronsiek back at guard and Akoi Akoi ready to breakout up front.  Add in a do-everything kind of guy in Jack Cartwright as well as a few more experienced guys and they feel like they have a step ahead of others. 

Then you have Lincoln.  The Patriots have the player we think could become Conference Preseason MVP in Jared Jaros.  Add in some size (Nate Brecht) and some experienced guys like Grant Russell and this team should be solid.  The group with the most varsity experience back is Brandon Valley plus Evan Talcott is the other guy in the Metro Preseason MVP talk after he had a great junior season.  

Washington has a lot of players to replace and it looks like the guys that will be looked to are Gabe Person and Carter Shields.  There are many bodies to replace but Washington is always as tough as they come.  Then there is Roosevelt with the best underclassmen in the league in Tyler Feldkamp.  Can he lead the group to a big step forward?  The preseason prediction is below but this league is so close it could flip flop. 

Preseason Prediction

  1. SF O’Gorman
  2. SF Lincoln
  3. Brandon Valley
  4. SF Washington
  5. SF Roosevelt

Preseason All Metro

First Team

Jared Jaros of SF Lincoln (12)

Evan Talcott of Brandon Valley (12)

Luke Ronsiek of SF O’Gorman (12)

Akoi Akoi of SF O’Gorman (11)

Tyler Feldkamp of SF Roosevelt (10)

Second Team

Gabe Person of SF Washington (12)

Carter Shields of SF Washington (12)

Carter Olthoff of Brandon Valley (12)

Cole Bruhn of SF O’Gorman (12)

Nate Brecht of SF Lincoln (12)

Jack Cartwright of SF O’Gorman (11)

Third team

Gavin Terhark of Brandon Valley (11)

Jeremy Jones of SF Washington (12)

Grant Russell of SF Lincoln (12)

Cole Siegfried of Brandon Valley (12)

Adam Kusler of SF Roosevelt (11)

Tucker West of SF Roosevelt (12)