Preseason All-Conference: West Central Activities


Posted On: 10/25/18 12:00 PM

Preseason Player of the Year: Ryan Schmitt, Van Meter2019

Van Meter has been to the state tournament the last two seasons, and this 6-foot-9 power forward has been integral to that success. This season, Schmitt is back as the Bulldogs’ leading scorer, shot-blocker and rebounder from a season ago. He’s one of the state’s best big-men and is a versatile one at that. Look for him to step out and can some mid-range jumpers this winter in addition to dominating the paint. 



First Team

Ryan Schmitt, Van Meter — 2019

14.1 points, 2.3 assists, 1.2 steals, 3.0 blocks, 7.8 rebounds

He did a little bit of everything last season while leading the Bulldogs to a second straight state tourney. This season, look for him to be dominant again on both sides of the ball. 



Trent Williamson, Earlham — 2019

16.5 points, 5.0 rebounds (two games)

Injuries have plagued Williamson throughout his career, but the fact remains, that he’s one of the more talented guards in the state. Hopefully he can stay in the floor this year, and expect big things from him if he does. 



Ben Heeren, Ogden — 2019

17.3 points, 2.0 assists, 1.3 blocks, 9.6 rebounds 

The Ogden combo-forward was on the verge of averaging a double-double a season ago, and we fully expect him to get over that hump this season he’ll add a slew of blocks and assists for good measure. 



Seth Juhl, Des Moines Christian — 2020

11.3 points, 2.6 assists, 1.7 steals, 3.6 rebounds  

Ultra quick and supremely athletic, the time is now for Juhl to take control of this always-good Lions squad. Des Moines Christian will again be very good, and Juhl will be leading the charge. 



Bryce Achenbach, Woodward-Granger — 2020

11.6 points, 5.8 assists, 2.3 steals, 5.6 rebounds 

The conference’s second-leading assist-man from a season ago is back for his junior season at Woodward-Granger, and he gets it done defensively, too; Achenbach is the conference’s leading returning steals guy. 


Second Team

Braden Gibbons, Madrid — 2020

Devin Fuson, Madrid — 2019

Gracen Welburg, Panorama — 2019

Zac Rizzuti, Panorama — 2021

Keith Braunschweig, Woodward-Granger — 2020


Honorable Mentions: Richie Griglione, Ian Abrahamson, Anthony Pothoff, Kayden Kruse, Griffin Diggs, Brycle Littler, Brady Hewitt, Quynton Younker, Jackson Waring, Justin Groen, Curran Ingram, TJ Harkins, Luke South, Malachi Peasley, Grant Fouch, Cole Arnburg, Kaleb Badker, Rob Salley.