Posted On: 10/24/18 12:00 PM

Player of the Year: Hunter Dekkers, West Sioux2019

Also a football standout, Dekkers is currently getting ready to quarterback his Falcons into the Class 1A playoffs on the gridiron. He’s thrown for 2,441 yards and 34 touchdowns this season, yeesh.  On the hardwood, he’s as effective, and spent his junior seasons terrorizing opponents. This season — once he’s done on the football field — he’ll be a terror once again while leading West Sioux hoops.  


First Team

Hunter Dekkers, West Sioux — 2019

19.0 points, 4.0 assists, 1.3 steals, 4.6 rebounds 

A sharpshooter who can dish it and D up, Dekkers is a guy that will do it all for the Falcons this summer. He’s also one of the state’s best quarterbacks, and one of its best all-around athletes. 


Nick Jacobs, Akron-Westfield — 2019

20.5 points, 3.3 assists, 1.4 steals. 3.2 rebounds

No returning player in the state of Iowa made more 3s last season than than Jacobs, that includes all classes; only one guy, AJ Green, now a UNI Panther, made more. Expect Jacobs to fill it up again this season. 


Spencer Schorg, St. Mary’s — 2020

12.8 points, 3.2 assists, 1.3 steals, 3.1 rebounds 

His numbers are a little less than others on this first team, but his experience is not. He was instrumental last season in helping St. Mary’s advance to the Class 1A semifinal, where they narrowly loss to Grand View Christian. 


Bubba Shon, Harris-Lake Park — 2021

15.0 points, 3.5 assists, 2.3 steals

Shon pieced together one of the finest freshman seasons in the state last season, that’s a big reason why he’s ranked among the top-30 players in the first-ever 2021 prospect rankings. 


Shane Kooima, Trinity Christian — 2019

12.9 points, 4.5 assists, 1.3 steals, 6.7 rebounds

Kooima led the six-win Tigers last season in scoring, assists and steals and he’s the team’s returning leading rebounder. Four of the team’s six leading scorers return, and Kooima will certainly lead the charge. 


Second Team

John Galm, Clay-Central Everly — 2019 

Kade Lynott, West Sioux — 2020

Ivan Abonce, H-M-S — 2019

Jackson Louscher, South O-Brien — 2020

Auston Van Donge, Unity Christian — 2020


Honorable Mention: Chase Koopsmans, Baxter Walsh, Aaron Hartman, Jacob Nemmers, Caden Kneip, Cade Schiphoff, Brendan Gengler, Traiton Cleveringa.