Posted On: 10/13/18 9:30 AM

Player of the Year: 2019 Nathan Michels, Benton Community

Either Michels or Independence guard Sean Geertsema looks like a solid selection for the West Division’s Player of the Year, but with the shots that are opened up following the graduation of Spencer Touro, we expect to see Michels put up some huge numbers for the Bobcats, who are routinely near the top of this division.


First Team

2019 Nathan Michels, Benton Community (13.5 points, 5.3 rebounds, 3.6 assists)

After a highly productive season as Spencer Touro’s running mate, Benton is Michels’ team now, and he should put together a huge year. The 6-3 wing is a playmaker who can score from all three levels, and he led the Bobcats in rebounding and assists last season.

2019 Sean Geertsema, Independence (14.4 points, 3.8 rebounds, 4.6 assists)

A big, physical guard who had been primarily known for his scoring, Geertsema showcased his playmaking abilities last season and this summer with Iowa Prep. He led the division in assists last year, and posted a very solid 3.47-to-1 assist-to-turnover ratio in doing so.

2019 Trevor Paulsen, Marion (10.6 points, 6.6 rebounds, 2.2 assists)

A 6-3 forward who does a large majority of his scoring around the rim, Paulsen led the Indians in rebounding and finished second in scoring last season. A focal point of a strong defensive team that made a surprise run to the state tournament last year, Paulsen should put together a really good senior season.

2019 Keith Keahna, South Tama (8.8 points, 7.5 rebounds, 53.5 FG%)

The second leading returning rebounder in the division, Keahna was great holding down the paint for the Trojans last season while the talented guard trio of Gabe Shields, Sterling Tyon and Kaiden Buffalo got most of the attention. This will be Keahna’s team now.

2019 Dylan Spina, Benton Community (9.4 points, 2.9 rebounds)

As mentioned with Michels, lots of shots will be freed up with the graduation of Spencer Touro (and Luke Wiebel, Parker Nolan and Koal Marshall). After a solid junior year, look for Spina to become a 13-14 point a game scorer for the Bobcats.


Second Team

2019 Brandon Moore, Center Point-Urbana

2020 Tyler Schrepfer, Clear Creek-Amana

2019 Nolan Schwarting, Clear Creek-Amana

2019 Matthew Brase, Marion

2019 Cody Westcott, Center Point-Urbana


Honorable Mentions
2019 Nolan Haisman, Vinton-Shellsburg
2021 TJ Bollers, Clear Creek-Amana
2020 Caleb Andrews, Center Point-Urbana
2020 Logan Schmitt, Independence
2019 Seth Patterson, Vinton-Shellsburg
2020 Jaffer Murphy, Marion