Posted On: 10/4/18 8:30 AM

Player of the Year: 2019 Gabe Larkin, Eddyville-Blakesburg Fremont

You can make a strong argument for any of E-B-F’s “Big Three” as the Player of the Year here. The Rockets are ranked No. 5 in our preseason rankings in Class 2A, and Larkin’s efficiency, rebounding and rim protection give him the slightest edge over his teammates Trey Moore and Wyatt Klyn. 


First Team

2019 Gabe Larkin, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont (13.2 points, 8.3 rebounds, 1.8 blocks, 53.3 FG%)

Larkin ranked second on the Rockets in scoring, and led the team in rebounding, field goal percentage and blocks. The 6-5 forward is versatile on both ends of the floor and should have a monster senior year for a E-B-F team that should roll through this league.

2019 Trey Moore, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont (14.8 points, 3.0 rebounds, 2.8 assists, 2.2 steals)

The leading scorer for the Rockets, and the leading returning scorer in the league, Moore figures to have the ball in his hands quite a bit more this year following the graduation of KJ McCrea, E-B-F’s assist leader last season. Look for his assist number to rise as a result.

2019 Wyatt Klyn, Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont (13.0 points, 5.3 rebounds, 2.5 assists)

The final piece of the Rockets’ “Big Three”, Klyn is the team’s best 3-point shooter, knocking down 36.4% of his attempts last year. He also swiped 41 steals last season on the defensive end. 

2019 Nathan Weaver, Chariton (12.6 points, 8.9 rebounds)

A 6-3 forward, Weaver nearly averaged a double-double for the Chargers last season. He’ll be asked to score more this season with Isaiah Tuigong and Dylan Stites graduated. 

2021 Blake Chance, Albia (9.2 points, 5.1 rebounds)

The most productive freshman in the league last year, the 6-3 forward is the Blue Demons’ leading returning scorer and rebounder. 


Second Team

2019 Lenny Peavy, Clarke, Osceola

2019 Nathan Blong, Chariton

2019 Reegan Warning, Davis County

2019 Cobey Robins, Clarke, Osceola

2021 Kieren Nichols, Knoxville


Honorable Mentions
2021 Dalton Stubbe, Clarke, Osceola
2019 Jaxson Sharp, Davis County
2019 RJ Roberts, Knoxville
2019 Trevor Slayton, Davis County
2021 Brady Kauzlarich, Centerville
2020 Matt McDonald, Centerville
2019 Jaxson Ocker, Centerville