Posted On: 10/17/18 12:00 PM

Preseason Player of the Year: Zack Lasek, Highland, Riverside2020

Since his freshman season, Lasek has been a dominant force on the Iowa high school hoops scene. Now, an wily vet, the upperclassmen is an experienced and dominant force. He led the conference in blocks a season ago and is the leading returning scorer as well. There’s no reason to think he won’t obliterate the competition this winter. 



First Team

Zack Lasek, Highland, Riverside — 2020

20.7 points, 2.1 blocks, 9.4 rebounds

A big and bouncy big-man, Lasek has been working this offseason to incorporate more of an outside shot, look for the D1 prospect to score in more variant ways this winter.  



Keaton Mitchell, Wapello — 2019

14.0 points, 1.7 blocks, 9.0 rebounds 

It’s going to be fun to watch the Wapello vs Highland, Riverside games, if there’s anyone that’s going to give the Preseason Player of the Year and trouble, it’s this Truman State commit. 



Trey Lasek, Highland, Riverside — 2019

12.0 points, 4.8 assists, 1.8 steals, 4.5 rebounds

The Laseks have been making a big impact on this conference for a while now, and there’s still plenty of time for the family to continue and cement its hoops legacy. Look for Trey to be among the conferences leaders in scoring and assists. 



Cameron Millikin, Pekin — 2019

14.2 points, 3.1 assists, 2.5 rebounds

A high scorer with a knack for dishing out assists, Millikin is a all-around solid player that will look to lead his Panthers to prominence this season. 



Ben Wolgemuth, Mediapolis — 2019

14.3 points, 2.3 assists, 9.0 rebounds 

The conference’s second-leading returning scorer, Wolgemuth not only gets it done scoring-wise, but on the glass too. Look for the 6’4 forward to maybe average a double-double this season. 


Second Team

Mason McFarland, Highland, Riverside — 2020

Eli Ours, Iowa Mennonite — 2021

Keegan Edwards, Lone Tree — 2020

Nick Ensminger, Mediapolis — 2019

Caleb Comstock, Pekin — 2019

Daunte Oepping, Winfield-Mt. Union — 2020


Honorable Mentions: Cole Adamson, Chepo Cardenas, Trevor Leyden, Brady Dauber, Auston Marshek, Karson Cantrell, Bryant Lanz