Posted On: 10/16/18 12:00 PM

Preseason Player of the Year: Ben Obert, Coon Rapids-Bayard2019

After an absolutely monster junior season, the conference’s leading scorer returns for what should be a very special senior season for him. The Crusaders won 10 games last season, and with Obert back plus two other key scorers, there’s bound to be big expectations in Coon Rapids this winter. 


First Team

Ben Obert, Coon Rapids-Bayard — 2019

22.4 points, 3.3 assists, 1.8 steals, 6.3 rebounds

Scoring is his best strength, but the guard can make an impact in a multitude of ways. Look for him to post some monster numbers across the board fro the Crusaders this winter. 



Drew Schurke, Ar-We-Va  — 2019

17.3 points, 4.0 assists, 2.4 steals

Always good, Ar-We-Va is a squad that could compete for conference supremacy again this season, and Schurke is the guy that will be leading the way. 



Cole Burmeister, Exira-EHK — 2019

14.7 points, 6.5 assists, 2.3 steals, 3.6 rebounds 

Not only is Burmeister an effective scorer, but he’s also the conference’s leading assist-man. Not lost on us is his ability to defend, the 2.3 steals per game last season was among the conference’s best. 



Dakota Rold, Exira (EHK) — 2019

13.2 points, 3.3 blocks, 7.8 rebounds

Defense is the name of the game for this very rangy big-man, and it was the 3.3 blocks per game last season that made Rold a dominant player. Look for him to be one of the state’s best big-men this winter. 



Keegan Simons, Ar-We-Va — 2019

15.5 points, 2.4 assists, 2.8 steals, 13.0 rebounds 

Another very talented big-man will prowl the paint in the Rolling Valley, and Simons excels at dominating the glass. He was among the state’s rebounding leaders last year. He’s also the conference’s returning steals leader. 


Second Team

Ty Houston, West Harrison — 2019

Josh Pettepier, Exira-EHK — 2019

Layne Pryor, Woodbine — 2021

Nick Rife, West Harrison — 2019

Tyler Miller, Paton-Churdan — 2020


Honorable Mentions: Jacob Holste, Lucas Berens, Alex Bantam, Wyatt Pryor, Derek Oeser, Wyatt Neumann, Gavin Reineke, DeShawn Carr, Leighty Isaac, Nelson Trey, Brigham Daniel, Gage Behrens, Tyler Melby,