Posted On: 10/2/18 1:00 PM

Player of the Year: 2019 Carter Cuvelier, Aplington-Parkersburg

The second leading returning scorer and rebounder in the league, Cuvelier is a stat sheet stuffer for the Falcons. The 6-5 forward is highly efficient, unstoppable around the rim, and has steadily improved his jumper, turning himself into a supremely dangerous offensive threat. Following the graduation of Alec Oberhauser, look for Cuvelier’s numbers to be eye-popping this season.


First Team

2019 Carter Cuvelier, Aplington-Parkersburg (19.1 points, 7.3 rebounds, 2.9 assists, 2.3 steals, 60.0 FG%)

A remarkably efficient forward who does a majority of his damage around the rim, don’t be surprised to see Cuvelier average a double-double for a Falcons team that will be right at the top of the league again.

2019 Paul Rundquist, Wapsie Valley (21.1 points, 4.1 rebounds, 2.3 assists, 2.7 steals)

The leading returning scorer in the league, Rundquist is as capable as any player in the state of going off for 50 points on a given night. His efficiency numbers dropped a bit as a junior. If they bounce back, he could be among the state leaders in scoring. 

2019 Colton Harberts, Dike-New Hartford (16.5 points, 8.9 rebounds, 63.0 FG%)

D-NH should be one of the best teams in Class 2A, and are the favorite to win the NICL East. This 6-7 forward is a major reason why. A big body who carves out space int he paint, Harberts has soft hands, quick feet and good touch around the rim. Don’t be surprised to see him average a double-double for the loaded Wolverines. 

2019 Cade Fuller, Dike-New Hartford (15.7 points, 3.9 rebounds, 3.3 assists, 45.3 3P%)

Another highly talented returnee for the Wolverines, Fuller led the team in 3-point shooting, and ranked second in scoring, rebounding, assists and steals. 

2020 Landon Borrett, Jesup (9.3 points, 8.1 rebounds, 52.4 FG%)

The junior big man really put his name on the map with a 21-point, 15-rebound performance against Don Bosco early last season. He’ll fight with Cuvelier and Harberts for the rebounding crown in the division, and will be the go-to weapon for the J-Hawks this winter.


Second Team

2019 Silver Schmitz, Union, LaPorte City

2019 Junior Bodden, Aplington-Parkersburg

2020 James Stimson, Sumner-Fredericksburg 

2019 Tim Koop, Dike-New Hartford

2019 Blayze Quigley, Sumner-Fredericksburg


Honorable Mentions
2021 Bryce Phelps, Denver
2019 Alex Zike, Waterloo Columbus
2021 Kobe Risse, Wapsie Valley
2019 Aaron Price, Aplington-Parkersburg
2019 Cade Nolan, Jesup
2019 Isaac Jorgensen, Dike-New Hartford
2019 Ryan Moore, Dike-New Hartford
2021 Dane Fuller, Dike-New Hartford
2020 Cannon Butler, Waterloo Columbus
2019 Jacob Murray, Hudson