Posted On: 10/13/18 4:40 PM

Preseason Player of the Year: Andrew Gibb, St. Edmond — 2019

Known as one of the best shooters in Iowa, there’s a lot more to Gibb’s game than just an elite jumper. He’s adept at getting the rim, and his extraordinary length is something that benefits him both from beyond the arc and when he gets into the lane. He had a monster junior season with the Gaels, and could be one of the more prolific guys in Iowa this winter. 



First Team

Andrew Gibb, St. Edmond — 2019

20.3 points, 3.0 assists, 2.0 rebounds 

The conference’s co-scoring leader from a season ago is back, and after scoring in bunches as a junior, he’s ready to show that he’s an elite scorer from not just beyond the arc, but from all three levels.



Karson Sharar, Iowa Falls-Alden — 2021

20.8 points, 4.4 rebounds

What a year it’s been for this young prospect. He was named Prep Hoops Iowa’s Freshman of the Year last season, then he nabbed a Drake offer this summer. Then he was pegged as the state’s No. 2 ranked 2021 prospect. What’s next? 



Calvin Carlson, Humboldt — 2019

16.6 points, 2.1 assists, 3.9 rebounds 

Carlson’s Wildcats struggled a bit last season, but the then-junior guard was certainly one of the conference’s best scorers. He’ll look to not only improve his shooting percentages this winter, but get his team into double-digit wins. 



Wyatt Wegener, Algona — 2020

16.3 points, 2.5 assists, 1.6 steals, 6.1 rebounds 

The do-it-all man from Algona, Wegener has a monster sophomore season for the Bulldogs and spent his spring and summer improving with Pure Prep 17U. 



Jackson Kochendorfer, St. Edmond — 2019

12.2 points, 2.6 rebounds 

We saw him can his first seven 3-point attempts in a summer league game this past offseason, so it’s no wonder he was among the state’s leaders in 3s made last season with 72 makes. 


Second Team

Jamison Heinz, Humboldt — 2020

Henry Hoversten, Webster City — 2019

Avery Harrington, Calrion-Goldfield-Dows — 2019

Logan Aldinger, Iowa Falls-Alden — 2019

Drew Enke, Clear Lake — 2019


Honorable Mentions: Collin Bleich, Tate Storbeck, Wyatt Sutter, Owen Terwilliger, Luke Haverkamp, Jed Tracy, Dylan Steen