Posted On: 10/16/18 9:30 AM

Player of the Year: 2019 Patrick McCaffery, Iowa City West

The MVC is always loaded with talent, and this year is no exception. And while Linn-Mar’s Trey Hutcheson is a big-time player, McCaffery is a pretty easy pick for the division’s Player of the Year. The future Iowa Hawkeye is a high level player on both ends of the floor and will lead the team that we expect to see back at the top of the league, despite some significant departures. 


First Team

2019 Patrick McCaffery, Iowa City West (19.9 points, 6.3 rebounds, 2.3 assists, 1.0 blocks, 52.1 FG%)

McCaffery has always been one of the top two players in the state in the 2019 class (only recently passed up by Bettendorf’s DJ Carton), and he’ll be the best player on the floor on a nightly basis for the Trojans. He’s on the short list of players playing for the Mr. Basketball honor at the end of the year, and anticipate some huge nights from the 6-8 wing.

2019 Trey Hutcheson, Linn-Mar (18.7 points, 7.3 rebounds, 2.0 assists, 1.4 blocks, 43.0 3P%, 86.5 FT%)

One of the best shooters in the state, regardless of class or position, Hutcheson recently committed to play his college ball at Albany. He’ll battle it out with McCaffery, Jefferson’s Willie Guy and Kennedy’s Jack Wetzel for the division’s scoring crown.

2019 Willie Guy III, Cedar Rapids Jefferson (16.6 points, 4.6 rebounds, 2.8 assists, 2.0 steals, 63 3PM)

A compact, physical scoring guard who should live in the paint this winter, Guy will lead a Jefferson team that is going to surprise people this year. 

2020 Jack Wetzel, Cedar Rapids Kennedy (13.3 points, 5.5 rebounds, 41.0 3P%)

One of the standout players at our Top 250 Expo at the end of September, Wetzel looks primed for a massive junior year. A big wing with a silky smooth stroke, he’s another fantastic shooter in a league filled with them.

2020 Even Brauns, Iowa City West (10.3 points, 5.0 rebounds, 3.1 blocks, 60.4 FG%)*

An athletic, talented 6-9 big man, Brauns transferred to West from crosstown Regina. It may take him a while to adjust to 4A basketball after playing in 2A for his first two years, but he’s coming off a strong summer with Wisconsin Playground Warriors, in which he picked up a handful of Division I offers.


Second Team

2020 Isaiah Johnson, Waterloo West

2021 Caleb Schlaak, Cedar Rapids Kennedy

2020 Ozzie Meiborg, Cedar Rapids Jefferson

2020 Jacob Schockemoehl, Dubuque Wahlert

2020 Andre Brandon, Iowa City Liberty


Honorable Mentions
2020 Cael Schmitt, Dubuque Wahlert
2020 Jaden Keller, Waterloo West
2019 Jaren Nelson, Linn-Mar
2019 Hayden Passmore, Linn-Mar
2020 Nick Pepin, Iowa City West
2019 Brayden Adcock, Iowa City West
2019 Trey Sheets, Cedar Rapids Kennedy
2019 Grant Griffin, Cedar Rapids Kennedy
2020 Tyler Andrews, Cedar Rapids Kennedy
2019 Max Duax, Dubuque Hempstead
2021 Michael Duax, Dubuque Hempstead
2020 Raejzuan Shockley, Cedar Rapids Jefferson
2019 Kyran Ligon, Cedar Rapids Jefferson
2019 Iziah Paulsen, Iowa City Liberty
2021 Bowen Gryp, Iowa City Liberty