Posted On: 10/4/18 7:00 AM

                         Caleb Grizzle

Player of the Year: Caleb Grizzle, Ankeny Christian Academy — 2019

Although several guys were considered for the honor, Grizzle gets the nod here because of his proclivity to play both sides of the ball at a high level. He led the conference in blocks last season and was able to be proficient on offense too, going for 12.4 points and 7.7 rebounds per game.  


First Team

Caleb Grizzle, Ankeny Christian Academy — 2019

12.4 points, 7.7 rebounds, 3.4 blocks

The Preseason Player of the Year will be a guy that should lead yet another really good Eagles squad in scoring this season. And defensively, he’s a shot-eraser, and could again be among the state leaders in blocked shots. 


Parker Hitt, Mormon Trail — 2019

17.3 points, 4.3 assists, 4.1 steals, 1.3 blocks, 10.7 rebounds

There’s really nothing this versatile forward can’t do. He led Mormon Trail in scoring, rebounding and blocks last season and was still able to dish out a respectable 4.3 assists per game. 


Stephen Ansong, Lamoni — 2020

17.2 points, 7.6 rebounds

Ansong made his mark in a big way last season with the 15-7 Demons, leading them in scoring and rebounding. He could be a guy who averages 20 and 10 this winter. 


Keaton Gwinn, Mormon Trail — 2019

15.9 points, 7.2 assists, 4.6 steals, 7.2 rebounds

One part of one of the state’s most prolific returning duos, Gwinn led the conference in assists and steals last season as a junior, and rebounds it exceptionally well from the point guard position. 


Jayce Goergen, Ankeny Christian Academy — 2019

12.5 points, 3.1 assists, 2.0 steals, 5.5 rebounds

The tough ACA guard doesn’t necessarily specialize in anything, but is a guy that simply gets the job done. His numbers last season were stellar, and he’ll help fill the void left by standout guard Drew Wilken who graduated after last season. 


Second Team

George Shanks (Mormon Trail) — 2020 

Reece Held (Murray) — 2020

Blaise Cooper (Melcher-Dallas) — 2019

Zach Dueker (Iowa Christian Academy) — 2020

Dewayne Figgins (Orient-Macksburg) — 2020


Honorable Mentions

Brendan Gray

Nicholan Patience

Chad Elrod

Devin Slaughter

Ethan Harrington

Kade Klommhaus

Wyatt Stansberry 

Noah Wells

Dakota Syhlman