The Metro East Preview

High School

Posted On: 09/27/18 4:47 PM

North St. Paul ran the league in 2017-18.  Who grabs the Metro East title in this winter?  Mahtomedi? St. Thomas?  Tartan?  We dive in and give the league a look. 

17-18 Last Year.  1) North St Paul,  2) St Thomas,  3) Tartan,  4) Mahtomedi,   5) Hasting,  6) Henry Sibley,  7) Simley,  8) South St Paul,  9) Hill-Murray 


Conference Commentary

Top Ten: Tartan, Mahtomedi, St. Thomas

The Titans will win 20 plus games again and with a backcourt of Idaho State committed Antwan Kimmons and junior Joseph Kearney they have their shot to make a run.  The Zephyrs are a very interesting team who will be a top five team in Class AAA this year and they have a top scorer in the class in J’Vonne Hadley, size, and good guards including Zac Centers.  Then you have St. Thomas who lost a lot of seniors but Jack Thompson – who just earned an offer from Southwest Minnesota State – as well as up and coming Noah Chamberlain should have their team in the Class AAA top ten once again. 

Compete with Most: North St. Paul, Hastings, Henry Sibley, Simley

This is where the league is really interesting.  I don’t think NSP will fall as far down the charts as many others think they will.  Brenden Lankford-Johnson will make a big jump and Dajuan Carter is going to be a 20 point per game guy.  Hastings lost a couple key seniors but has four of their top six players returning.  Both the Raiders and the Polars will have good runs at times this year and may work into the top three.  At Sibley we like what they are doing and believe that Ty and Malik will make a solid pair.  Then there is Simley.  Isaiah Robinson could have a huge year but their record depends on depth. 

Rebuilding: South St. Paul, Hill-Murray

Could get ugly at Hill-Murray as there is another new coach and seems like less talent.  SSP is a team that you just want to win.  I don’t think I’ve seen a team have a run of struggle like this anyplace else in the state.  

Conference Predictions

  1. Tartan
  2. Mahtomedi
  3. St. Thomas
  4. North St Paul
  5. Hastings
  6. Henry Sibley
  7. Simley
  8. South St Paul
  9. Hill-Murray


Preseason All Conference

First Team

Antwan Kimmons of Tartan (12)

Jack Thompson of St. Thomas (12)

J’Vonne Hadley of Mahtomedi (11)

Noah Chamberlain of St. Thomas (12)

Dajuan Carter of North St. Paul (12)


Second Team

Malik Spearman of Henry Sibley (12)

Brenden Lankford-Johnson of North St. Paul (11)

Joseph Kearney of Tartan (11)

Isaiah Robinson of Simley (12)

Zac Centers of Mahtomedi (12)


Third Team

Devon Haraldson of Hastings (12)

Ty Zubulake of Henry Sibley (12)

Matt Schlottman of Hastings (12)

Cole Chapman of Mahtomedi (11)

Tony Wright of St. Thomas (12)

Devin Melzer of Mahtomedi (12)