Posted On: 09/22/18 11:30 AM

Player of the Year: 2019 Jack Kelley, Don Bosco

The Dons lead guard ranked second on 1A’s third place team in scoring, and there’s no doubt the team was significantly better when he was on the floor. A talented playmaking guard, he thrives on getting into the paint and scoring, and he’s a gifted passer as well. He’ll lead a Don Bosco team looking to remain at the top of a division filled with quality teams.


First Team

2019 Jack Kelley, Don Bosco (14.5 points, 3.3 rebounds, 5.0 assists)

A talented point guard who paces what should be one of Class 1A’s best teams, Kelley is equally adept as a scorer or facilitator, and he’ll help lead what will be one of the best defensive units in the state. 

2019 Codey Hicks, Janesville (18.0 points, 9.3 rebounds, 2.0 blocks, 68.8 FG%)

The league’s leading returning scorer, the 6-5 forward looks like a safe bet to average a double-double this year. He’s highly efficient, and if he can improve from the free throw line (42.4% last year), his scoring number could be huge.

2019 Zach Johnson, Dunkerton (15.6 points, 3.3 rebounds, 4.5 assists, 72 3PM)

A gunner who made 72 3s last season, the 5-10 guard led the Raiders in scoring and dished out 103 assists last year. Dunkerton figures to be one of the better teams in 1A this year, and if Johnson can improve his efficiency from the arc (33.8%), they’ll be extremely dangerous.

2019 Brady Happel, Dunkerton (14.9 points, 5.8 rebounds, 5.7 assists)

A stat sheet stuffing wing who led the Raiders in rebounding and assists, Happel and Johnson form quite the duo on the perimeter for Dunkerton. He can score from anywhere and is a solid ball handler who paces the Raiders offensive attack.

2020 Zach Huff, Don Bosco (8.3 points, 3.3 rebounds, 5.0 assists)

Probably the most talented individual player in the state, the 6-0 junior guard is a fantastic ball handler, scorer and facilitator who looks primed to take a major step forward following the graduations of Zach Nie and Sean McFadden, a pair of 14-15 point a game scorers. 


Second Team

2020 Ethan Schmidt, Clarksville

2019 Josh Hahn, Janesville

2019 Spencer Hoff, Janesville

2019 Cael Tenold, Don Bosco

2019 Chris Behrends, Clarksville


Honorable Mentions
2019 Dawson Holub, Clarksville
2019 Caden Conrad, Janesville
2019 Brady Stone, Dunkerton
2019 Blake Bockhaus, Tripoli
2019 Kendall Becker, Don Bosco