Posted On: 06/25/18 9:29 PM

In honor of the NBA Award Show tonight, we at Prep Hoops decided to give some awards out for some of Dayton’s high school players from 2017-18. Although there are multiple awards that can be given out, we highlight a handful of the more prestigious ones. Here is a look at our Dayton award winners from 2017-18.

Dayton Most Valuable Player- Samari Curtis Xenia (2019)

This is a tough decision as several other players could have won this award. Ultimately, we chose Curtis because he is a difference maker and truly is a valuable member of the Xenia varsity team. Without him, this team looks very different. Other finalists were Justin Ahrens (2018) from Versailles and Andre Gordon (2019) from Sidney.
Freshman of the Year- Anthony McComb Thurgood Marshall (2021)
Several freshman received minutes at the varsity level, but McComb took advantage the most out of any other players. From early in the season, McComb made it clear he was one of the top Cougar players on the roster. After tying for first in scoring on his team last season, Anthony will be a name to watch as his prep career continues. Other finalists include Allan Latimore from Stivers and Chanze Amerson from Thurgood Marshall.

Defensive Player of the Year- Ratez Roberts Sidney (2019)

A dynamic rebounder and strong on the ball defender, Roberts has shown over the past 2 seasons his ability to be a difference maker on the defensive end. Part of a strong 2019 class, Roberts will be looked upon in a bigger role this upcoming season. Other finalists include Justin Stephens (2019) from Trotwood-Madison and Amari Davis (2019) from Trotwood-Madison.

Sixth Man of the Year- Larry Stephens Springfield (2020)

As part of a strong Wildcat roster in 2017-18, Stephens stepped up off the bench for Springfield and provided relief in a deep backcourt. Although not always the first name to enter the game off the bench, Stephens was by far one of the top reserves in the entire Dayton area. Other finalists include Savon O’Neal (2020) from Miamisburg and Yousef Saleh (2020) from Beavercreek.

Most Improved Player of the Year- Harrison Hookfin Lebanon (2018)

Hookfin went from an unknown reserve for the Warriors to an All-Conference player in one season. A great inside presence, Harrison helped turn Lebanon into a middle tier team in a loaded GWOC last year. Other finalists include Ryan Hall (2019) from Fairmont and Connor Bazelak (2019) from Alter.

Coach of the Year- DJ Wyrick- Vandalia Butler

Coach Wyrick helped turn the Aviators from a 13-11 team into a 19-4 GWOC North co-champion. Wyrick helped player Kort Justice (2018) develop further into a next level player and has shown he knows how to coach against some of the top teams in Dayton. Other finalists include Tim Fries from Miamisburg and Pat Kreke from Fenwick.