The AAA All State Team


Posted On: 05/1/18 5:45 PM

The Class AAA season was historic for reasons of talent in the class and the team performances so today we name our Class AAA All State Team.



First Team

Calvin Wishart of Delano (12). The state champion Mr. Basketball finalist averaged 31.1 points, 9.6 rebounds, and 8.1 assists per game.

Gabe Kalscheur of DeLaSalle (12). Three time state champ who scored 23 points per game and led his team back to the state tournament.

Jarvis Omersa of Orono (12). Jarvis put up 18.4 points a game with 11.2 rebounds a night and a couple blocks.

Matt Todd of Monticello (12). Not many guys packed as much into one night as Matt did putting up 29 points a game with six rebounds and six assists.

Tyrell Terry of DeLaSalle (11).  Took his team to third place in state averaging 16.8 points per game with over six assists a night plus 4.6 rebounds a game.



Second Team

Malik Willingham of Waseca (12).  Malik led a young team of Jays into the top five of Class AAA this season scoring 20 points a game.

Noah Slagter of Willmar (12). Noah scored 23 a game with seven boards and four assists for a team that was top five in Class AAA and went 26-3 this year.

Duoth Gach of Austin (12). Led the high rated Packers in scoring (17), steals, and was second in assists, and third in rebounding for the state semi-finalist.

Deundra Roberson of Columbia Heights (12). Scored 19 points a game leading Columbia Heights to the state championship game.

Wendell Matthews of Columbia Heights (12). Matthews scored 17.5 points per game with nine rebounds a night for the state runner-up.

Damani Hayes of Mankato East (12)t. Led his team to state with 16 points, 6 rebounds, and 4.5 assists a game but it was his defense that pushed him into this group.



Third Team

Sam Vascellaro of St. Thomas (12). Sam led STA to state with a team high of 16.3 points and 6.4 rebounds a game.

Keegan O’Neill of Delano (12). Averaged 18 points and seven rebounds a game but the 30 spot in the state title game is now the stuff of legend.

Nathan Rund of Fergus Falls (12). The Otters have been a constant 20 win team with Rund leading, Rund led with 18 a game.

Desi Sims of Minneapolis Roosevelt (11).  Sims scored 26.4 points per game this year leading the city in scoring.

Trey Lance of Marshall (12). Maybe the best year that people haven’t recognized. Trey led Marshall to a 23-5 year with 20 points, 7.4 rebounds, four assists, and two steals a game.



Fourth Team

Colton Codute of Orono (12). Averaged 8.5 assists a game but also scored his 14 a contest helping when Max Bjorklund missed a big part of the year.

Jalen Justice of Robbinsdale Cooper (11).  Jalen led Cooper into the top ten of Class AAA with his 17.6 points per game not only creating for himself but four assists too.

Cody Landwehr of Sauk Rapids-Rice (12). Cody led the Storm in boards with 9.5 a night while scoring 17 a game.

Jamison Battle of DeLaSalle (11).  The big face-up forward scored 14 points with 5 rebounds a night for the constant regular season number one in Class AAA.

Alex Rasmussen of Northfield (12). The Raiders won 20 with Alex leading in scoring at 17 a night.



Fifth Team

Trevor Kaiser of Dassel-Cokato (12). Trever scored 22 a night and led D-C to a way better year than most expected.

Tate Hebrink of Austin (12). One ot the better leaders in the state Tate led Austin with seven assists a game plus scored a dozen.

Nate Seelye of Grand Rapids (12). Nate put up 25 a night and had some of the best single game peformances of the winter.

Jon Stimmler of Princeton (11).  Led the Tigers in scoring and rebounding and this was a 20 win team who was in the top ten.

Charlie Jacob of Totino-Grace (12). Jacob scored 18 points per game against a difficult schedule.