The Junior All State Team (SD)

High School

Posted On: 04/16/18 6:01 PM

The Junior All State Team for South Dakota has been named at PHD and is led by some of the most successful names of March.


First Team

Sawyer Schultz of Bridgewater-Emery. Scored 23.5 points per game with five assists a night plus seven rebounds a game. Led the Huskies to a third place finish at state and a 22-4 record.

Noah Freidel of Tea Area. At 27.4 points per game this year Freidel was one of the most versatile scoring threats in the state.  Despite constant attention Noah scored on 48 percent of his field goals and was a 38-39 percent shooter at the arc.

Jacob Prouty of Clark/Willow Lake. Led his team to the state title game while averaging nearly 20 points per game. Also led his team in assists while also getting them to a 20 win season against a tough schedule.

Alejandro Rama of Red Cloud. Gave his team 22.4 points, six rebounds, four assists, and three steals a game. Rama led his team to the state tournament where the team won two of three games.

Trey King of Irene Wakonda. King put up 23 points, seven rebounds, 3.5 steals, and 3-4 assists a game for a 14 win team against a fairly tough schedule.


Second Team

Dylan Pourier, Douglas. Dylan earned all state tournament team honors after leading his team to the consolation title.  Dylan was the team’s leading scorer at a dozen a night.

Mitch Goodbary, Sioux Falls Christian.   SFC lost only once all year and Mitchell put together a 12.6 points, 7.4 rebounds, 3 assists, and 2.6 steals per game this year.

Jamin Arend, Bridgewater-Emery. Gave his team 14 points, five boards, and 4.5 assists a game. Did some of everything for the state’s third place finisher.

Jadice Morrison of White River. The conference MVP of a team that made the state tournament and earned a place in the state semi-finals. Led his team with 15.2 points a game.

Nick Hoyt, Harrisburg.   All conference player who was a top scorer for his team. Nick Hoyt put up 13.3 points and 4.6 assists per game this season.


Third team

Carter Dye, Bridgewater-Emery. Averaged a double-double at state while putting up 14.5 points and 8.5 rebounds a contest this season.

Justin Hohn of Tea Area.  Scored 11 a game and led Tea in assists this season. As a starter at PG Justin has led his team to a title and a second place finish so far in his career.

Evan Talcott, Brandon Valley. Evan wasn’t just an all conference player this year, he earned all conference in two different quality leagues.

Corey Brown of Pine Ridge. Corey led his team to the state tournament with 15.2 points per game with 14.2 rebounds with four assists a night.

Dawson Paulsen of RC Stevens. The second leading scorer for Stevens, Paulsen was a key piece on a team that played their way to a third place finish in state.

Tucker Kraft of Timber Lake, Junior. The 6-foot-5 junior big led his team in rebounding while also scoring 13 points on a night. Earned all state tournament team.


Fourth Team

Brayden PayPay of Timber Lake, Junior. Led his team in scoring this winter putting up 14-15 a night on their way a to 21-4 season.

Brandon Benike of Castlewood. The 6-4 wing averaged17.7 points and nine rebounds a game this winter

Karst Hunter of Miller, Scored over 20 a game and nearly averaged a double-double (9.8 a game).

Camden Bialas Parker. The Parker big man was a constant big number producer and a top prospect.

Gavin Schipper. SF Christian. Sharp shooter who scored 11-12 a game for a one loss team.

Jared Jaros of SF Lincoln.   Jaros was an all-conference player that scored more than a dozen a game.


Fifth Team

Trevin Holland of DeSmet.

Drew Cole of Brookings.

Jackson Miller of West Central.

Charlie Cox of Dakota Valley.

Kade Stearns of Tea Area

Rex Ryken of Yankton.