Posted On: 04/8/18 6:16 PM

Lakeland, Florida is the home of Fire Youth Sports Incorporated. The Lakeland Fire has partnered with the CYBL USA to host the Fire Shootout Classic April 6-8, 2018. There are fourteen organizations represented, they are: 5 Star Athletics, Grindmode, Lakeland Fire, Raiders, Skills Center Elite, Ultimate Warriors, Bartow Blazers, Demons, Florida Starz, Team Legacy, Clearwater Elite, Florida Thunder, Tampa Kings, and Team Tampa.


In the 11th grade division the teams were very competitive. Demons 2019 went undefeated in pool play but ended up facing Team Tampa a second time in the championship and Team Tampa avenged the loss by winning its third straight event championship.


In pool play the 9th and 10th grades were combined but had their own championship. In 9th grade, Clearwater Elite took home the crown over a unbeaten Lakeland Fire team. In 10th grade, Demons 2020 blew away Florida Thunder for the crown.


I did not get to watch all teams but the teams I saw and/ or received a report on included these players as standouts, stock risers, or players to watch.


2019 Standouts and Stock Risers:

Jordyn Daughtry – Bartow Blazers – lightning quick guard with great handles. gets in the lane with ease and create for others.

Alex Vigo – Bartow Blazers – he’s actually a freshman playing up. He’s a good catch and shoot guy.

Justyn King – Team Tampa – posted hard and finished with authority. He drew doubles and made the right plays.

Malique Calixte – Team Tampa – skilled defender, he was up in opposing players face and directed good sets on offense.

Angelo Sardegna – Demons 2019 – he’s a scorer with deep range. He made multiple shots well beyond the arc and drove past defenders with ease when his shot wasn’t there.

Chris Romkey – Demons 2019 – Slasher who gets others involved and is a solid defender.


2020/ 2021 Watch list:

Tyrone Smith – Bartow Blazers

Amarion Frazier – Bartow Blazers

Mike Trigg – Lakeland Fire

Marcellus Thomas – Lakeland Fire

Nario Ware – Lakeland Fire

Anthony Bittar – Clearwater Elite

EJ Hubbert – Clearwater Elite

Dean Gabrelcik – Clearwater Elite