Iowa’s All-Sophomore Team (Class of 2020)


Posted On: 03/26/18 2:53 PM

First Team


Sophomore of the Year: Bowen Born (Norwalk)

18.4 points, 50.7 FG%, 42.0 3FG%, 82.1 FT% 2.1 assists, 1.8 steals

Iowa’s 3rd-ranked 2020, Born was great last season as a freshman with Norwalk, but still made huge strides as a sophomore. He’s as skilled of a player as there is in the state, that’s made evident by his high shooting percentages. We’re expecting Born to flirt with 50-40-90 (at least 50 FG%, 40 3 FG%, 90 FT%) numbers the next two seasons. The scoring is fantastic, and Born is one of the best bucket-getters in Iowa, but his defense was there, too —  he’s got the high steals numbers to prove it. And what we really like, is he was able to be this dominant on one of the best teams in all of Iowa.


Xavier Foster (Oskaloosa)

12.7 points, 58 FG% 8.0 rebounds, 1.8 assists, 3.6 blocks

Touted as one of the best players in the country, Xavier Foster — like most everyone on this list — made big improvements from last year to this year. He was a key figure on the 3A runners-up, Oskaloosa, and provided as many highlight moments as anyone in Iowa. If he wasn’t wrecking rims, the 6’10 forward was wrecking his opponents’ shot-attempts. His 3.6 blocks per game was second-best in Iowa, regardless of class. Iowa, Iowa State, Creighton, Texas A&M and Illinois have all offered him. More offers should roll in this summer.


AJ Coons (Solon)

17.5 PPG, 48 FG%, 45 3FG%, 2.9 APG, 4.4 RPG

Maybe the most improved player on this list, Coons took a big summer with the Iowa Barnstormers and carried the momentum right into his sophomore season at Solon. He led the 3A Spartans in scoring, shot the ball very well from deep, and was all-around looking like a Division I hoops prospect. The 6’5 wing is also a standout on the gridiron, he led Solon in receiving yards as a sophomore. So, the question moving forward, is which sport will he pursue.


Easton Darling (Winterset)

17 PPG, 38 3FG%, 3.2 APG, 1.5 SPG, 3.0 RPG

Darling has made some serious improvements with his overall game, and made is very clear this past winter that he is and will remain one of the class of 2020’s best talents. He’s got a lethal combo of athleticism and skill, and is certainly not afraid to let fly from deep. Darling will be turning heads with the Martin Bros’ 16U squad this spring and summer. We’ll be interested to see what kind of interest comes his way. There’s no doubt that Division I and Division II coaches will be taking a serious look.


Zack Lasek (Highland, Riverside)

20.7 PPG, 49 FG%, 35 3FG%, 2.1 BPG, 9.4 RPG

Last year’s class of 2020 Player of the Year, Lasek was again dominant this season. He’s a 6’7 post with more bounce than you’d expect for a guy with his size. And he’s starting to develop into more of a stretch-four. Lasek nearly averaged a double-double, and his 9.4 rebounds per game was fourth-best among all sophomores, regardless of class. Also a good shot-blocker with high-level scoring ability, this Martin Bros product could be in-line for an eventful summer of recruitment.



Second Team

Peyton Pope (West Marshall)

21.0 PPG, 49 3FG%, 1.2 SPG, 2.7 RPG


Hunter Dekkers (West Sioux)

19.0 PPG, 48 FG%, 41 3FG%, 4.0 APG, 1.3 SPG, 1.1 BPG, 4.6 RPG


Bryce Coppock (Newell-Fonda)

21.9 PPG, 4.0 APG, 2.3 SPG, 4.3 RPG


Jon Shwarte (Treynor)

8.9 PPG, 71 FG%, 3.0 BPG, 7.6 RPG


Daniel Wright (Sergeant Bluff-Luton)

10.7 PPG, 53 FG%, 42 3FG%, 89 FT%, 4.4 APG, 5.0 RPG


Third Team

Cameron Soenksen (Camanche)

Jaxon Smith (Ankeny)

JD Stout (Keota)

Brennan Sefrit (Bedford)

Jack Wetzel (Cedar Rapids Kennedy)


Honorable Mention: Stephen Ansong (Lamoni), Taylor Kennsett (Danville), Nick Reid (Central City), Zach Huff (Don Bosco), Cade Winkel (Bishop Garrigan), Specner Schorg (St. Mary’s, Remsen), Masen Miller (Regina), Even Brauns (Regina),  Seth Juhl (Des Moines Christian), Bryce Achenbach (Woodward-Granger), Jack Stogdill (Treynor), Michael Keegan (Beckman Catholic), Wyatt Wegener (Algona), Andre Brandon (Iowa City Liberty), Alex McAleer (Central DeWitt), Colby Vincent (Carroll), Calvin Harris (Western Dubuque), Keshawn Christian (Iowa City High), Ozzie Meiborg (Cedar Rapids Jefferson), Campbell Mitvalsky (Cedar Rapids Washington), Isaiah Johnson (Waterloo West), Micah Johnson (Centennial), Ty Anderson (North Scott),